Macarons 101

March 1 2011 § 29 Comments

 
We’ve moved! Visit this post at http://www.emboite.com/blog/?p=774!

§ 29 Responses to Macarons 101

  • [...] There’s just so much going on this time of semester. But I’ll finalize it this weekend. It’s finished!! -Emboîté’s review of Paulette Macarons. -PS: We’ll be featuring these macarons in [...]

  • kobi says:

    is the foot of the macaroons because of the consistency of the batter or the height of the macaroons when you piped the batter

    • B & L says:

      Whether or not your macarons will have feet is highly dependent on the consistency. The height of the piped cookies do reflect this consistency – if the piped cookies are flat puddles, you have probably overbeaten and you will need more dry mixture. If the piped cookies are thick lumps and aren’t spreading even a little, you should beat the batter more.

      So long story short: both! –the way your macarons look after piping reflect the consistency of your batter, and the consistency is key in achieving a foot.

      I hope this helps!
      -Liz

  • Jill Colonna says:

    Congratulations on Top9 today and as a result, just discovered your page. Great site and super macaron post. Your macarons look absolutely stunning!

  • Mike says:

    I have yet to attempt macaroons. One day, one day…

  • mich says:

    You are both adorable! I found your site from the top 9. Congrats. Your macaron recipe and tutorial makes me want to jump in and give it a try. Love your back ground illustration too! Can’t wait to see what is next!

    • B & L says:

      Thanks Mich– It’s been quite the honor to be in the top9 and discovered by people like you! We’ll try not to disappoint : )

  • Justine says:

    Hi

  • Natacha says:

    Can you let me know what you sprinkled on top of the green macarons ? Thanks-

  • Tiffany says:

    how hard should the shells be? I made some yesterday and the shells were hard, so much that when you took a bite of the macaron, it would squish the ganache out the sides and shatter the cookie. Any ideas?

    • B & L says:

      Tiffany- The shells should be really delicate. A little pressure should be enough to crack the shells. My best guess is that they were in the oven too long. The shells may still seem undercooked after they’ve been in the oven for 16 minutes, but they still continue to cook when you take them out. Hopefully that helps!
      -Brian

  • kobi says:

    hi, does aged eggs whites contribute to easier removing of the macaroons? if it isnt ,what is?

    • B & L says:

      Hi Kobi,

      Since aged egg whites makes for a better meringue, and I’d like to think better meringue leads to a better macaron, and a better macaron is easier to peel off, I will say yes.. somewhat. But I think it’s more important to consider the oven heat/cooking time. And of course, don’t forget to let the shells cool completely before removing.

      I hope this helps.. please let me know,
      Liz

  • Hi there! Great post! I actually finally got my macarons right after 4 failed attempts in 4 days hehe. Wish I’d found your post before now. But now is a good time too as I’ve been looking for a macaron recipe with less sugar and yours seems to have significantly less than others I’ve seen. I was wondering if you’ve noticed any differences compared to other macarons except for sweetness? For example, is the meringue more delicate with less sugar to stabilize it? Thanks a lot!

    • B & L says:

      Hi Xiaolu! Thanks for checking out our recipe! We’re glad you finally got your macarons right. :D Wasn’t it well worth it? As for the sugar in the meringue, 50g of granulated sugar is the typical amount of sugar used. It’s enough to help stabilize the meringue without making it too sweet. However, we did cut back on the confectioners sugar in the almond flour mix. We tried 170g of confectioners sugar with 150g of almond and found that the macarons are A LOT less hollow than if we used 200g of confectioners sugar with 120g of almonds. Hope that helps. If you have any other questions feel free to ask. :D
      -Brian

      • Many thanks! Yep it was totally worth it. Just tried another flavor (black sesame with chocolate ganache and mochi discs inside) and underbaked them so they’re sticky but otherwise good flavors. By the way only just noticed the cartoon of you guys on the right and it’s soooo adorbs! I was asking about the sugar amount because I actually find the usual amount of sugar way too sweet and love your lower proportions. I just always hear that you can’t reduce the sugar because it’s necessary so I’m glad you proved that wrong =D.

      • B & L says:

        Mochi disc!? That sounds amazing! We had that same problem with the sugar, too. The sweetness would be so overbearing that it would make our throats sore after a couple bites.

        Glad we could help!
        -Brian

  • Hi there =). I posted the sesame mochi macarons on my blog btw. I’m also back to ask for more tips. So because my oven has major hot spots i have to double-stack my pans to avoid some macarons turning into volcanos but now it seems there isn’t enough bottom heat to get tall feet. I tried turning up the tempurature but some macs then got lopsided and started browning. Any ideas? Thx!

    • B & L says:

      Oven problems are the worst. I’d suggest a wire rack of some sort – it won’t block out the heat but the heat will be less direct as well (I use a wire rack that’s been in my kitchen for years, I don’t even know if that was its original purpose). This looks nifty: http://www.amazon.com/BOS-Wire-Oven-Rack/dp/B000LDZIBC. I don’t know if you’d need that many layers, but you get the idea.

      Your macarons look absolutely gorgeous btw!! I’m excited to see more macarons on your blog so I hope this oven problem gets resolved!
      -Liz

  • Thanks a lot! I’ll try it out. I think I may try preheating the bottom pan with the oven and then putting the pan with the macs on top of that to start baking so it starts out with a bit more heat but still hopefully blocks enough heat to prevent the “volcano” macaron effect hehe.

  • Too bad I didn’t see this earlier, I didn’t have much luck with the french method, but loved the Italian. Either way, gorgeous cookies.
    -Gina-

  • fg says:

    Started my first attempt at macarons today, and after two batches my big question is: how do you know when they are cooked and you should remove them for cooling?

    • B & L says:

      Hi there! I also find this to be one of the trickier things about macarons. I consider if the foot has stopped rising – usually a few minutes after that seems good to me.

      But the best way would probably be trial and error (If you find the macarons are sticking to the paper even after cooling/mushy inside, add a couple minutes or if they’re crunchy, drop a couple minutes next time). Undercooking is very forgiving – if they’re cooled and I realized I’ve undercooked, I can still bake them further.

      Not using food coloring for the first couple batches of macarons will help with the oven timing. When I see some of the colorless macarons looking a little more golden, I know they’re well done.

      I hope this helps. Sorry I don’t have an easy answer! Wouldn’t be nice if we could just stick a toothpick inside of them?

      Liz

  • Hi there again! I’ve been having a problem with sticky bottoms recently and was wondering if you guys ever have that issue and if it may be connected to not using as much sugar. Thanks! Even when I bake my macs so long that they brown, they’re still sticky on the bottom :(

    • B & L says:

      Hi Xiaolu! Your macarons are looking so lovely.

      I was looking at your recipe, and I would try adding more granulated sugar (since sugar helps meringue hold its shape). I think your powdered sugar to almond ratio shouldn’t be a problem :)

      Of course, it might have just been too humid for macarons.. :x

      Liz

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

